Help Amplifying Transducer with LM324 OP Amp

Ben Slayton

Joined Apr 24, 2017
Hi, I need help amplifying the sound/output of this transducer. I have verified that the input of the op amp is 25 KHz and the output is as well. I just cannot get the transducer enough power.

Details:
Thanks for any help or insight anyone can offer.

PS. I am pretty new to circuitry. My background is in Software Development. Please bear with me if I use the wrong terminology. Trying my best to learn. :)

Edit: I spoke with someone at American piezo and he said that I need to push 30 VRMS to the transducer. So I would like to do that, or at least go as high as the op amp supports.

Attachments

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!

Thank you for posting a schematic. What is the amplitude of the input signal, how is it coupled?

Some members have slow or very slow connections. Please post images with an appropriate resolution.

Clipped output waveform info:
upload_2017-4-29_14-7-32.png

And uninteresting Arduino output:
upload_2017-4-29_14-10-3.png

Breadboard - note, 9V supply, not +/-9V as indicated in schematic:
upload_2017-4-29_14-19-14.png

Last edited:

Ben Slayton

Joined Apr 24, 2017
Some members have slow or very slow connections. Please post images with an appropriate resolution.
Good point. I'll make sure to lower the resolution.

Breadboard - note, 9V supply, not +/-9V as indicated in schematic
Ahh, I didn't catch that. How can I get -9v?

I stand corrected ... but if you want to increase the magnitude of the input/output voltage, the supply voltage will have to be increased.
I replaced the 9V battery with a 30v supply, which accomplishes what I needed... a louder transducer.

Now my issue is that the square wave is distorted at the op amp output.

OP-Amp Output.png

drc_567

Joined Dec 29, 2008