Guard Ring Implementation

nasha

Joined Dec 19, 2009
Hi everyone!

I am making an amplifier for photodiode with OPA-128, a circuit is also available in application notes in datasheet (Figure 7). Circuit is attached
I am confused about the "Guard" at inverting pin of op-amp. how to implement this? Does this mean to connect pins 8,2,and GND together? It doesn't make sense to me.

P.S: I am new in the field of electronics, so sorry if my question is of basic type.

Attachments

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018
Only 8 (the "can" of the part) and GND (ground) are connected together. "Ground" here means circuit common. There is no implication of an actual earth ground, though in a circuit like this such a connection may be made for shielding purposes.

The guard is a narrow (usually, but can be wide) track on the printed circuit board that surrounds pins 2 and 3 and the things connected to them electrically. It should be done on both sides of the circuit board.

The reason for this is that the inputs of the amplifier are extremely high impedance but operate, by virtue of the behavior of the op-amp, at "virtual ground." The non-inverting input (NII) is connected to ground through an extremely high value resistor. If the op amp were perfect, the NII would be connected directly to ground, but even the minute current that flows into or out of the inputs causes errors at such high impedance so the resistor is used to "balance" error. The inverting input is maintained at the same voltage as the NII by the current through the feedback resistor. When impedances are super-high, the slightest bit of conductance to anything else from the high impedance nodes can cause significant errors. The guard ring prevents conductance across the surfaces of the circuit board to anything other than actual circuit ground. Because the two inputs of the amp are also at ground potential, no current will flow between the guard and the input pins.