GND and VCC are 0.7 V apart (unexpected short?)

bmbouter

Joined May 29, 2021
I have my own design (see attached), and I'm pretty new at all this. I designed it in kicad and then tested it pretty extensively using LTSpice. Upon having a dev board made when I plug in BAT+ I see GND throughout the circuit go to VCC - 0.7 for a brief period and then drop to 0V. One it's at 0V the EN pin stays at VCC - 0.7 (also unexpected). I attached two multimeter traces; one trace is of the EN pin and the other of the GND connection (as measured from the GND side of R16).

Here are a few things I think I know?
* The pre-startup is really the part of interest, so I don't think the GPIO connections are meaningful at all. For example a diode test setting of the multimeter in the unpowered circuit shows no connection between GPIO4 and GPIO14 in either direction.
* There is a 0.7V drop between ground and BAT+ in the unpowered circuit
* When the ESP-12F powers on (when EN rises high enough which doesn't happen immediately) the GND drops to 0V and stays there...

How can I troubleshoot this design in a non-destructive way with my multimeter and/or oscilloscope? The hardest part for me is that the circuit is actually on a PCB so it's all connected unless I start destructively removing parts of it. The only thing I can really think of is to get a breakout board and start to build up the relevant parts on a breakout by hand...
1682907308393.png

Attachments

Last edited:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
If you have an unpopulated PCB that will help tremendously in the trouble shooting process.
Are you willing to post your CAD schematic files and gerber files?

There are other ways to find a short on the board.
Here are some techniques that can be useful.
1) IR camera.
2) Freeze mist
3) Current tracer

Edit: Sorry. I just saw your oscilloscope screen shots. I was thinking of a different problem, i.e. a short from Vcc to GND.
I have to review your situation again.

ArakelTheDragon