General RLC circuit - Current through inductor

gianx80

Joined Jan 23, 2011
Hi to all and thanks in advance. I'm studying for one of my exams (I work so I can't attend lessons and the Professor doesn't reply to my emails).
In the following circuit I have to find the current through the inductor:

exercise.png

for t < 0 we have:

p2.png

So IR1 = 10A, IR2 = 20A. Current through the inductor is 20A and the voltage across capacitor is 80V.

for t = ∞ we have:

p1.png

So IR1 = 5A, IR2 = 10A. Current through the inductor is 10A and the voltage across capacitor is 40V.

for t = 0+ we have the initial circuit, the current though inductor is 20A and the voltage across the capacitor is 80V.
So we have a soluzione like this one:

solution.png
now, the circuit is neither RLC parallel or series, right? Can I lead it back to a know simpler case? Am I doing something wrong?

I found examples with combination of series and parallels, but they use phasors and, in this case, I don't have a AC source (so I cannot compute impedance).

I found examples of RC or RL circuits solved used Thevenin, again, if I use the inductor as a load I have the parallel of a capacitor and a resistor, so no way.

How can I proceed?

Thanks, I'm desperate

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Hopefully you recognize that one of the components in the circuit can be removed completely as it has absolutely no effect on the current in the inductor at any time. Do you see which component and why?

Have you started learning about Laplace transforms yet? You don't need them so solve this problem, but it makes it a lot easier.

gianx80

Joined Jan 23, 2011
Do you only need solution for t<0 and t-->inf or entire time response?
I don't know, I don't have the solutions. It asks for: "Find the current through the inductor in every moment. Professor doesn't reply to me, so I don't know more than that. I used a solution like this because I found a simpler exercise on the Internet that calculated for t<0 and t >= 0.