Fume extractor that pulls from bottom instead of top

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Cayliff, Dec 19, 2017.

1. Cayliff

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 19, 2017
    Hello,
    I am new to building electronics, but I have read allot about it. I am about to start learning how to solder first, then move on from there.

This might be a stupid question but, I am just wondering what your opinions are about it. The only fume extractors I have seen are either pulling the smoke up or towards the sides. Is there a reason why people don't put a wire mesh as part of their workbench top. and have 2 kinds of filters before a strong fan under your desk pull the fumes out.

Filter one would be just 2 sheets of metal grating. With the second ones holes offset from first one. This would keep solder that falls through the mesh from getting on the other filter.

Filter 2 would be a regular activated carbon filter,

Then there would be the fan that pull the cleaned fumes through a hole and outside.

This would free up space with the fume extractor under the workbench, and make it where you don't have to worry about where to solder that much.

What do you all think?

The only problems I see is the metal filters would slow the air down, so might be better to have a u bend in the duct that is easy to remove and clean, instead of the metal filters. This would work similar to a sinks p-trap.

2. OBW0549

Distinguished Member

Mar 2, 2015
    I've been building electronic thingamajigs for almost 60 years now, with soldering sessions at least once a week for most of that time. I have never used a fume extractor, yet I'm still alive and kicking-- quite nicely, in fact.

Others will no doubt differ, but my opinion is that those things are a waste except for factory workers who spend all day, every day, soldering. Spend your money on something else, like a really good soldering iron.

shortbus and joewales44 like this.
  3. shortbus

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 30, 2009