firmware in microcontroller

Salman Anjum

Joined Oct 13, 2014
Hi...i'm new to engineering so pls tell me thatI have a PIC Micro-controller. I was told that I need to install a firmware in it before I could burn a program in it. . so my question is what is firmware? i've heard a term boot loader related to this ..... pls explain what is boot loader?? .. I want to burn a burn a program using a programmer , do I need a boot loader ????

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Firmware is any program that resides in a microcontroller based system, usually stored in flash memory.

Bootloader is a small program that facilitates the programming of the flash memory.

What is bootloader

bootloader

All embedded single chip microcontrollers have a bootloader or equivalent built-in otherwise there would be no way to program the internal flash memory.

Additionally, some platforms such as Arduino add a separate program to accept programming instructions using their own special programming protocol.

No, you do not need a bootloader. The PIC programmer will program the PIC MCU for you.

Last edited:

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Firmware is one of those words that means just what you want it to mean, no more, no less.
It is generally synonymous with software or program code. The “firm” in "firmware" intends to show it rarely if ever needs to change.

OK, so that said… if you have a programmer you can program any and all code into your device (with some possible rare exception).

Lacking a programmer you may want to use a bootloader, which is a small program (firmware) that is just smart enough to load a larger program into your device. This is useful in applications such as field programming a device by the end user, someone without special equipment, so something existing on the unit (serial port, USB port, and the like) can be used to gather the new code to be programmed into the device.

So if you have the programmer for your micro controller you have all that you need.

Papabravo