Finding a load cell with adequate resolution

Draxta

Joined Apr 14, 2017
Hi all,

I'm new to AAC, but I just couldn't find an answer to my question elsewhere (or at least one I was confident with).

Short version: I'm looking into load cells with a capability to measure 15000 steps and no less than 100 grams capacity (0.1 grain resolution on a 1500 grain capacity scale), but I'm not finding any load cells with that high of a resolution. How do commercial scales do this? Is it software compensation?

Long version: I'm looking into building my own home powder measuring scale in conjunction with another guy that has some more circuits knowledge, and we're having trouble determining what kind of load cell we should be using. I want the scale to have a max capacity of 1500 grains (1 gram = 15.4324 grains), with a resolution of 0.1 grains. This seems to be the industry standard for commercial powder scales for what I'm looking to do.

I've found several 0.3 Kg load cells with a 0.02%F.S. resolution (5000 steps), but this seems to be the highest I can find. If my understanding is correct, that means these load cells are capable of measuring in .06 gram intervals (about 1 grain). I also took apart a commercial scale, and it seems to be using a very similar 0.3 Kg single-point load cell.

Do I really need to find a load cell with a 0.002%F.S. resolution? Or is there a way to compensate during the A/D conversion to allow my scale to effectively measure the 15000 steps between 0 and 1500 grains?

Any input or knowledge would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
You are going to find the transducers with full scale loads of numbers like 100 grams or here is an old popular example:

RCBS Strain Gage.png