End of ME

Robin Mitchell

Joined Oct 25, 2009
Hi all,

This is the last day for my small little business.

Recently I have been thinking alot about my life and the direction which it should take. I have finally decided that electronics, while was a fun degree and something that I enjoy is not the carrer I wish to persue.

Instead I am qualifying as an electrician and wish to start my own business. I have been doing the course for about 3 months and really enjoying the work.

Maybe in the future I will think again about doing what I now used to do. Now I need to start thinking more about the rest of my life and how I can use my abilities to grow something that will help me and family in the long run.

It was fun while it lasted but enough is enough.

Robin Mitchell

Joined Oct 25, 2009
I wont stop electronics as a hobby but as a small business that paid next to nothing its not worth it. My carrer is not about what I do, its about being my own boss. That is my ONLY requirement so the electrician path was the best (in fact, it looked amazing).

nerdegutta

Joined Dec 15, 2009
As an electrician, will you do home cabling or most industrial cabling? After some time dragging, pushing and pulling cables through too small holes and openings, I'll bet you think that "Hm... designing PCB wasn't so bad afterall." Too bad the pay isn't good enough. :) Good luck with you new path.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
Not sure how it works on your side of the pond, but over here if you want to be a self employed Electrician, you've got several years of indentured servitude in front of you. In order to operate legally you need a Master Electrician to supervise electrical work, so effectively to be self employed you need to be a Master Electrician*, and that takes years to achieve. You have to go through several steps (helper, apprentice, journeyman, master, ...if I'm not forgetting any), logging thousands of hours in each step, passing several exams, and then apply for the license.