Embedded Systems Pic Microcontroller Project

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by misteree1, Apr 17, 2019.

1. misteree1

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 17, 2019
    Hey everybody, I am fairly new to embedded systems and hardware design. For my embedded systems final project I would like to create a 7-button "piano" using a Curiosity development board and a PIC16F1709 uC. I had several questions that I hope somebody may be able to answer.

Hardware already purchased:
    Curiosity development board w/ PIC16F1709
    Pushbuttons
    8 ohm 1W piezo speaker

1) Will the PIC16F have enough space for inputs/outputs for 7 buttons, a speaker, volume control (potentially handled with the Curiosity onboard potentiometer) mode switch button, and a button for entering a higher octave of notes?
    2) What other hardware will need to be purchased? Will I need op amps to amplify the voltage going into the speaker/How does one go about determining the op amp necessary for amplification?
    3)I'd also like to add a feature for playing 1-3 preset tunes from memory... will this uC be sufficient for storing the necessary information needed to play the preset tunes?

Any other pertinent information that I might need?

Appreciate the help, I'm an absolute noob at this stuff so any help is appreciated.

2. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    MOD NOTE: Moved to Homework Help.

3. JohnInTX

Jun 26, 2012
    The Curiosity board should be OK to do that. To answer your questions, think about each part.

I count 11 IO. Take a look at the 16F1709 datasheet and the Curiosity schematic and assign pins. Digital inputs are easy, the sound might be good using a PWM output. Not sure about the volume control.. Anyway, I counted and it looks OK to me.
    Depends on how much sound you want to get. The PIC will drive a piezo speaker. You can also look into using one of the gazillion amplifier circuits available.. Maybe start with an LM386.