Eagle library/footprint for Honeywell SS495

ebeowulf17

Joined Aug 12, 2014
I'm just starting to learn Eagle and attempting my first PCB layout project, but I'm having trouble with one part. I've found custom libraries for every other part I've needed so far, but can't find anything for the Honeywell SS495A (hall effect sensor) that I need to use.

I found what appears to be a good tutorial on how to make my own library for it. I would try making a library except that the data sheet dimensions only show the device itself, but not what the ideal surface mount pad configuration is (also available in the data sheets for other surface mount components I've been working on.)

Here are the dimensions shown in the data sheet:

SS49x_dimensions.jpg
This is a link to the full data sheet.

If anyone can point me in the right direction to either find an existing library that would work for this, or to help me determine the appropriate pad layout for a custom library, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,
Eric

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
That is indeed unfortunate. Some companies put the recommended pad arrangements for their various packages in a separate datasheet. Have you checked whether Honeywell did that? As an alternative, you may find a decent match in ref-packages.lbr Checking very quickly, it looks like almost anything with 0.05" on-center pads (e.g, almost any SOIC pad arrangement) will work. Obviously, you want the pad a little wider than the pin, so an SOIC with 0.03 wide pads might not be too bad. If you are not using a solder mask, you could change the pads to make them a little narrower, but I don't think that will be necessary.

John

ebeowulf17

Joined Aug 12, 2014
John, I found several other Honeywell docs with the same info, but none that included the pads. Thanks for giving me an idea of what to try for pad sizing.