Drone Hits Passenger Jet

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
It has finally happened: http://www.foxnews.com/world/2016/0...proach-to-heathrow-airport.html?intcmp=hplnws

That article doesn't give much additional information. What is important is that there is absolutely no excuse for that happening. Unfortunately, the public response probably will be to punish all drone pilots, rather than address the fool(s) who caused this collision.

I am a life-long modeler and have flown "drones" since the 4th grade. There are many others like me. In fact, most of the people in our club have a similar history -- I am just a little older. Please be responsible. Don't be a lone wolf. As part of a group, you can help preserve this wonderful hobby.

John

Dr.killjoy

Joined Apr 28, 2013
Thanks for news..

I while ago I was looking to build a Tri-copter or V-tail copter but I was scared of something like this cause in my locations there are a commercial airport,Fighter airport,several private airports,and Coastguard which patrols the coast..

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Unfortunately, the public response probably will be to punish all drone pilots,
There was no damage? Quick, make new laws because there are no laws against putting physical things in the way of real aircraft.

What's that? There are laws to address that?
Sorry, I'm stupid. Create some more laws anyway because that will fix my emotional incontinence.

[sarc/off]

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
As long as you only fly below a couple hundred foot altitude there should be no problem.
It's the idiots that fly there's above that altitude that are cause problems for the rest of us. :rolleyes:

Out here they actually had to abort a fire fighting plane drop during a brush fire because one of those idiots was flying his drone at the plane's altitude (I presume to observe the fire with the drone's camera).

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008