Creating an LED flickering candle light board

Jason-9000

Joined Apr 18, 2024
Howdy all and thanks for the help in advance.

I thought I’d approach this topic from a reverse engineering angle! I’m trying to figure out how this tiny board that drives 3 discrete small flickering LEDs works.

Screenshot 2024-04-12 102320.png

I know you can buy small lights with flicker built in but I want to understand what’s under the hood so I can create small boards to hide in dioramas, etc. Thoughts / questions:

- Main controller chip? Research points me to Attiny chips but I’ve also come across a few other options. What are we seeing here, I wonder.

- Variation in the flicker? This depends on the code as well as the outputs on the chip, correct? This example has 3 outputs. I’m not a programmer but I can do simple sketches on the Arduino and I'm also open to other simple options.

I’ve done some low-level THT soldering on small boards with tiny lights (0402, 0603, 0805) and appropriate resistors for 5V, small connectors (JST ZH), etc. I’ve also created a simple power hub board in KiCad so I have an idea of the basics but I’m still a beginner.

Essentially, I’m eager to figure out something tiny, cheap, and not too crazy! Any ideas where to start?

KeithWalker

Joined Jul 10, 2017
An ATTINY85 would do the job running on 5V (USB?). The eight pin DIP can drive up to 5 individual outputs. It is available as surface mount and through-hole versions. There are a number of posts on-line that explain how to program it, using an Arduino Uno. The basic simple test program is called "Blink". It flashes a LED on and off at 1 second intervals. That would be a very simple introduction for you and could be modified to experiment with a flicker effect.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
Essentially, I’m eager to figure out something tiny, cheap, and not too crazy! Any ideas where to start?