Control on/off state of IC with arduino

jpborunda

Joined Apr 9, 2014
Hello everyone. I am testing a 5V-200VDC-DC converter IC. I tested the IC with a bench power supply, and I saw that it is drawing approximately with 5V: 450mA at start-up, then the current decreases exponentially until it stabilizes at aprox 120mA when connected to the Load.

I would like to control when the ON/OFF state of the converter with an arduino, however, I am aware that the arduino digital pins can only source 20mA safely, so it cannot be done directly.

To provide the needed current, I thought maybe I could use a battery, say a 9V battery with a decent amp-hr, a regulator or Linear Dropout Regulator to step down the voltage to 5V, and connect that output to the converter. But again, how could I control the on/off state of the battery using the arduino?

Is this an okay approach? I'm open to suggestions of course, since I'm fairly new at this.

Thanks, any help is appreciated.

Attachments

Last edited:

jpborunda

Joined Apr 9, 2014
Does the ic chip has On/Off or Enable/Disable pin?
No it does not. It only has a +5 V input, and a Gnd input.

You could use a logic-level MOSFET, or a relay, to switch the 5V supply to the converter.
Using a relay, I asume it would be something like this:
http://img.bhs4.com/b1/6/b1642fbf2a12f5c4c1d4a3427518bafebeff8993_large.jpg
Just a couple of questions to make sure Im picturing it right.
1. Could I use the 9V battery for "supply voltage" (for the relay coil)?
2. I need to connect the common terminal to the LDO_Input, then LDo_Output to the converter.
3. The Normally open/closed pins to 9V and Ground respectively.
Right?

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Q1) Yes. Make sure the relay coil rating is 9V. You will need to choose the transistor and base resistor value dependent on the coil current requirement.
Q2) Yes (assuming you are referring to the common terminal of the relay contacts).
Q3) Connect 'N.O' pin to 9V, leave 'N.C' pin unconnected.

MikeML