Connecting LEDs to a motorcycle (Braking and turning light)

Ragnarok

Joined May 7, 2017
Hi

To improve my visibility on the road I was thinking about connecting LEDs to my motorcycle (rear brake light and turn lights)
I have a degree in EE, but didn't practice it a lot of years (worked mainly in programming) so please be patient with me

The final goal I strive for is about the same as shown here:

to have 2 LED strips in each side of the jacket (to each turn light), and another 1 strip in the middle for the braking light (will be ON only when the braking light will be ON - or will be 50% brightness always and when braking will rise to 100%, what should be better?)

I bought a couple of LED strips (5050 SMD LEDs) like the ones here:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1-20M-RGB-5...ip-Flexible-IR-Remote-12V-power-/272359259204
They work on 12V DC

The motorcycle is a Suzuki GW250, and I've got the technical book of it, which include all of the schematics needed..
Attaching the wire diagram from the book, highlighted the relevant areas

That's the first "big" project i'm starting alone in this field, so would appreciate any help, where should I start, what should I look for and how should I build the schematic for my own wiring?

Thanks.
wire-dia.JPG

Ragnarok

Joined May 7, 2017
I just saw there's a "Automotive Electronics" forum, I think this thread is more suitable there... is there anyway to move it there?

Thanks and sorry for the trouble.

ian field

Joined Oct 27, 2012
Hi

To improve my visibility on the road I was thinking about connecting LEDs to my motorcycle (rear brake light and turn lights)
I have a degree in EE, but didn't practice it a lot of years (worked mainly in programming) so please be patient with me

The final goal I strive for is about the same as shown here: