chebyshev filter design for vhf fail. Why?

cmrincon

Joined Oct 25, 2017
Hi, noob here.:D
This weekend i have been designing a VHF filter and trying to characterize real components to get the best simulation of the real filter. I Will make the circuit with smd parts 0805 or 0603.

I supose that i did a bad job as i get -2dB max in the bandpass and less BW than expected.

My target BW is from 115 MHz to 150 MHz and get -1dB min in the bandpass. How can i archieve that? It is posible to get -1dB in the passband using chebyshev pass band filter?
i attach images of circuits and graphs. If you ask me i can simulate the circuit on ltspice and upload it or give you the component list.
Thanks you in advance

Attachments

danadak

Joined Mar 10, 2018
For sure lumped element filters in VHF are on the edge in terms of accounting
for complete and accurate models of PCB and elements.

Did you hand crank out computed values or use a VHF sim ?

Funny thing is we normally experience too much BW due to losses,
not the other way around. But your passband did show there are
loss elements present.

Noob here also.

Regards, Dana.

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
May I ask what is the overall picture is. Source and purpose of input signal.

How would you described frequency flow thru the real image circuit?

Are you trouble shooting a simulation.....or have you swept the circuit?

cmrincon

Joined Oct 25, 2017
May I ask what is the overall picture is. Source and purpose of input signal.

How would you described frequency flow thru the real image circuit?

Are you trouble shooting a simulation.....or have you swept the circuit?
Hi! The purpose of the circuit is be part of a communication system. I would like to use it to archive a better signal reception in my sdr. I need a good rejection of the FM band 88-108 MHz and good reception of the 3 m band (144 MHz). My secundary goal (optional) is be posible of receive the airband, which is next to the fm band.