(Cheap) Light Activated DC Motors

David Koonce

Joined Oct 1, 2015
I am an educator for a science museum. I have the most circuit experience of anyone on staff and that is not saying much.

We do outreaches to local schools and we are trying to create a engineering outreach.
We want to create a simple set of DC motors that are light activated.

I have some very simple knowledge of how circuits work, however I do not know how to do the calculations for the different components.

I have included a drawing of what my limited knowledge tells me the circuit might look like.
FullSizeRender.jpg
Can anyone help me? Tell me if I am doing it wrong and help me pick the right resistors and transistors?

I have purchased the geared motors that we need and I can provide any specs that are needed.

ronv

Joined Nov 12, 2008
I am an educator for a science museum. I have the most circuit experience of anyone on staff and that is not saying much.

We do outreaches to local schools and we are trying to create a engineering outreach.
We want to create a simple set of DC motors that are light activated.

I have some very simple knowledge of how circuits work, however I do not know how to do the calculations for the different components.

I have included a drawing of what my limited knowledge tells me the circuit might look like.
View attachment 92367
Can anyone help me? Tell me if I am doing it wrong and help me pick the right resistors and transistors?

I have purchased the geared motors that we need and I can provide any specs that are needed.
Yes, the motor specs will be needed to see how big the motor transistors need to be. You show 2 motors in parallel. You want them to run when there is light?

David Koonce

Joined Oct 1, 2015
Yes, the motor specs will be needed to see how big the motor transistors need to be. You show 2 motors in parallel. You want them to run when there is light?

Here is the data for the selected motor.
  • Operating Voltage: 6 V