C programming introduction

anukalp

Joined Jul 28, 2018
Hello ACC Members

My name is a anukalp gandhi. I am 2nd year student of electronics. I have read some old forum posts. Experts suggest that we should have a good knowledge of c programming before starting programming of the microcontroller. I still feel that I am not good at c programming. I have thought that I will not start programming of microcontroller until I become good at c programming.

I have some books and I'm also reading some online tutorials. After reading, I try to make my own programs. Sometimes I get successful and sometimes I fail

Question : What is array in c.

Answer : An array is used to store a set of data elements with the same data type.

For example, if we want to store six integers, we write in C:

Code:
int numbers[6] = { 0, 2, 1, 0, 1, 5 };
For example, if we want to store five characters, we write in C:

Code:
char letters[5] = { 'H', 'e', 'l', 'l', 'o' };
For example, if we want to store five strings, we write in C:

Code:
char strings[5] = { "Red", "Orange", "Yellow", "Green", "Blue" };
integer size
Code:
/* size of int depend on hardware consider it is 2 bytes  so one integer take 2 bytes memory space*/

/* in the example of array there are six integer variable. Each take 2 bytes memory space */

int point[6]={ 0, 0, 1,  0, 0, 0};  /* It store six integer */
character size
Code:
 char drive[5] = { 'C', 'D', 'E', 'F', 'G' }; / it store five character, */
/* single character take one byte memory space so there total five. Each five character take one byte memory space */
Question : What happen if we use array and what happen if we don’t use array

Answer : if I want to store two or three numbers I’ll write in c
int x = 2, y =4, z = 9

But what happen if I want to store large numbers ie 100 variables.

I can do it this in two way
  1. I have to declare and initialize 100 variable but I don’t think this is good way so I have another way array