Button press timer circut

Jimbo6871

Joined Jun 3, 2018
Hi all, first things first I'm a total noob to this fourm so if I inadvertently infringe on any rules etc. it's not intended. Also I'm a bit of a novice to electronics, so if my questions seem a bit basic I apologise in advance.

I am in need of some advice on building a circut that will trigger a timed output to close a relay for around two seconds when a momentry push button is pressed. The two main requirements of the circut are:
1. If the push button is not pressed for the full two seconds - eg. it is only pressed for one second, the circut will still close the relay for the required two seconds.
2. If the push button is pressed and held - eg. for three seconds or indeed much longer, the circut will still only close the relay for two seconds then return to its open state and remain open until the push button is released and the circut will not close the relay until the button is pressed again.

I had been thinking along the lines of something based around a 555 but to be honest I lack / doubt my ability to come up with a reliable circut (yes I know it sucks that I doubt myself on even the most basic of circuts), but in the counsel of many there is wisdom and so I'm turning to the combined wisdom of the membership of this fourm for assiatance and advice.

Many thanks in advance.
Jimbo

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Welcome to AAC.

What you are looking for is called a "one shot." That is, once you trigger it, it will send a pulse for 2 seconds. The trigger is an edge, such as a rising or falling edge of the signal the switch makes. There are retriggerable and non-retriggerable one-shots. In the retriggerable version, a second pulse before the end of the 2 seconds will prolong the pulse. Here's more discussion of that:https://electronics.stackexchange.c...a-nonretriggerable-and-retriggerable-one-shot