Antenna for basic radio circuit.

The_Logician

Joined Oct 2, 2023
Will insulated wire work as a good antenna or will my wire need to be exposed? Also should I directly put the antenna in the ground (literally) or a common terminal can act as ground (example a +15,0,-15 DC power supply's ground terminal)

Jerry-Hat-Trick

Joined Aug 31, 2022
I'm not an expert on radio, I'm sure others on this site are, but I believe an insulated wire is fine and a simple antenna should probably be 1/4 of a wavelength long (or a bit longer). And I don't think it should be "in the ground". It would help if you provided some detail, is this a receiver or transmitter? A schematic is essential to get helpful responses

The_Logician

Joined Oct 2, 2023
Cat Whisker diode receiver.

Ron
Yeah my bad i wasn't specific enough. I'm making a Crystal radio reciever with a N34 diode instead of the crystal. Here's my circuit diagram. I'm trying to tune in to 792 kHz (the local AM station). So far I have had no luck. I was using a long wire as my antenna.One end was free and the other was at the ground that I used for all the others in the circuit. I'm using about 10 ft of wire so as pointed out above I think that may be the issue.
Can i use a length equivalent to a harmonic(1/4 of the wavelength is 94 metres so can I use say 1/16 th of the wavelength?)

Attachments

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
Make your "Long-Wire" Antenna as long as possible, and, as high above the ground as possible.
Don't worry about an exact "tuned" length, more is better.

Lay out the Antenna so that it is in line with the Tower that You want to receive, if possible.

The Ground should be an actual Copper-Clad Grounding-Rod driven into the Ground.

A proper Lightening-Arrester is a really good idea for safety.

The_Logician

Joined Oct 2, 2023
Make your "Long-Wire" Antenna as long as possible, and, as high above the ground as possible.
Don't worry about an exact "tuned" length, more is better.