AND gate with a ?pull-down resistor?

Dimitri555

Joined Apr 16, 2023
Hello everyone,

I am new to the field of electronics and am just getting to grips with Logic Gates. And it's the AND Gate that's giving me problems right now :) I found a circuit diagramm for it on the following website:

https://electronics-fun.com/logic-gates/

According to the truth table, the output should be 0 even if one of the inputs is 1. I build this circuit diagramm using Paul Falstad's Circuit Simulator (https://www.falstad.com/) and unfortunately the output is 1 when the second switch (see Pic_1) is closed.

I then researched for a solution and came across this YouTube video:

I rebuilt this circuit diagramm again using Paul Falstad's Circuit Simulator and it works correctly (see Pic_2).

I also rebuilt this circuit on a breadboard and it works (see Pic_3)

As far as I can understand, the part marked in red (Pic_2, 2.) is a pull-down resistor. I have read some articles about the pull-down resistors and still can't understand why the LED is not lit in this case. I would be very grateful for an explanation.

Thanks in advance!

Best regards,
Dimitri

PS: Sorry for the possible language mistakes, I am not a native English speaker.

Attachments

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
In Pic 2 only one switch (1) is closed. Close both switches (so that both inputs of the AND gate are at logic high) and the LED should light.

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
Hi Dimitri,
Welcome to AAC.
Using a 270 Ohm resistor to the Base of the lower transistor will light the LED.
The current path is 5V > base voltage drop of 0.7V will apply 4.3V volts across the LED circuit, it will light.
270 Ohm value is too low.
E

Added:
EG57_ 1012.png

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Your first circuit is a faulty design (unfortunately there's a lot of crap electronic designs on the internet).