A tutorial on reading circuits in Visual 6502

Ulf Magnusson

Joined May 17, 2015
Hello,

Thought some people here might find this interesting, so here's a tutorial I wrote a few years back (with help and vetting from the NesDev community) on how to read the NMOS circuit displays in Visual 6502. Visual 6502 is a JavaScript-based digital circuit simulation of the 6502 CPU, and more generally a framework for simulating old chips.

The tutorial uses examples from the APU (audio circuitry) and PPU (graphics processor) in the NES. This is probably a good thing, as those circuits are much less dense and so easier to read directly compared to the 6502 circuitry. (The 6502 is a full custom design, while the APU and PPU are mostly built with standard cell components.) The particular examples aren't hugely important, and the principles are exactly the same.

I'm primarily a coder who's dabbled a bit in hardware (or hardware simulated in software anyway), so the tutorial should (hopefully) be easy to read even for people without much electronics experience. :)

Cheers,
Ulfalizer

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Nice. Some comments. I think the layout would be easier to read if you didn't use solid colors so you can see what's over or under a layer. You should draw the contacts. Why did you choose to color code the diffusions? I'd prefer texting to derive netnames.

I worked on designs that had 10 layers of metal and about the only layer that was solid fill was contact (for poly, diffusion, and metal1; actually connecting layers that were traditionally done with a single contact layer got more complicated). Even when we only had one layer of metal, non-solid fill patterns were the norm.

Ulf Magnusson

Joined May 17, 2015
Nice. Some comments. I think the layout would be easier to read if you didn't use solid colors so you can see what's over or under a layer. You should draw the contacts. Why did you choose to color code the diffusions? I'd prefer texting to derive netnames.