a few questions about electronics

Dankest

Joined Jun 4, 2017
I am a complete noob with all this stuff, but that is why i am here, so i have a arduino and it came with a motor, but when i hook the motor to the chip, it turns the motor on and the motor spins for a few seconds, and then the board turns off and goes very hot, i understand that the motor is probably drawing too much current, so would sticking a resistor make it work or would that draw more current. Also does using a resistor make a battery run out faster?

last question : people keep saying that a motor will draw as much current as it needs, but what about voltage the higher the voltage the faster, my dc brushed motor will go, but i know that attaching this to a car battery will burn it out, why and how can i stop this, i could use a resistor but do they lower voltage?

I know these are stupid questions, but you know i don't have the answer and there something i struggle to understand, if you answer and have a nice day.

Moderaters notes:
Please using comma in your sentences and seperate the appropriate sentences to another paragraph, the ',' had been added into your sentences.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
A lot of your questions can be answered with knowledge of one basic principle, Ohm's Law.

Ohm's Law states that the current through a resistor is directly proportional to the applied voltage and inversely proportional to the resistance.

We can state this in algebraic terms as I = V/R,
where I is the current through the resistor
V is the voltage across the resistor and
R is the value of the resistance.

Let's take one thing at a time.

1. If a motor is designed to operate at 5V, it will demand a certain amount of current based on its resistance. (The current will increase if you load down the motor). If you connect the motor to 12V, you will draw more current and burn out the motor.