74LS based CPU, Register implementation question

joanlluch

Joined Feb 27, 2019
Hi All,

I'm new to the forums but it would be great to get some help from you for a new project that I already have in the planning stages. I'm a professional software developer, with experience including real-time software development and low level programming in assembly language. But I'm relatively new to digital electronics and thus there are some subjects I am not that confident about.

I have been watching (and learning) from the excellent videos on simple CPU design by Ben Eater, such as this one

Basically the video shows a D-type Edge triggered Flip Flop with some logic to prevent Inputs to be feed to the Flip Flop if we do not want to (starting at 3:35). The circuit the author of the video proposes, is identical to the 74LS173 as seen in this datasheet file : http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/sn74ls173a.pdf . In fact, he ends using two 74LS173 to implement a 8 bit register. Let's call it Circuit 1.

This is fine, however I do not understand why this additional logic is required for it to work. (Note that I am not asking about the buffered tri-state outputs but just the inputs). My understanding is that we could just use a regular D-type Edge triggered Flip Flop such as this http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/sn74ls273.pdf and then just input the IC clock with a circuit combining the clock with the Input enable signal like the one shown in the attachment. Circuit 2.

My question is: is there any fundamental working difference between the two circuits, provided that the input enable (G1) is provided well in advance to the clock pulse (CLK)?

Thanks

IMG_3590.JPG :

pmd34

Joined Feb 22, 2014