555 556 timer circuit electric fence perimeter protection PCB design

huramentzefix2

Joined Apr 12, 2024
I would like to make a 556 timer circuit with a car ignition coild to give my chicken in the backyard some secure space.
My dogs and some stray dogs have killed all my rabnits, so I gave up on my rabbits.
This is my last attempt to leave the dogs alive, if it doesn't work I will silence the dogs.

I like this circuit in this link, specially the neon bulb that takes care of the energy if there is no spark so that it doesn't get backfed.
Do you have any comments on the circuit, is it OK to being produced that way?

How can I get the gerber files, BOM and everything that is needed to order from JLCPBC the easiest way, I have no experience with eagle nor kicad.
Which software would be the easiest and most affordale for the task? I am not looking for anything super fancy that can do a lot of things, just something that is up to the task.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Looks like it might work, especially given that the schematic is from a finished circuit. Figure out a way to observe your output voltage because not all spark coils are the same so you might need to adjust the timing to get the voltage you need.

Please be very careful testing and using this circuit it can destroy components, test equipment, and YOU!

huramentzefix2

Joined Apr 12, 2024
Please be very careful testing and using this circuit it can destroy components, test equipment, and YOU!
You say "can". I need to increase the power output then till you say "will". I am hoping to teach those dogs a big lesson and whip their asses! If they don't recover, good :)

Looks like it might work, especially given that the schematic is from a finished circuit. Figure out a way to observe your output voltage because not all spark coils are the same so you might need to adjust the timing to get the voltage you need.