4511 ic and common anode 7 seg display

Danger Mouse

Joined Nov 6, 2016
So, I bought myself a couple of 4511 chips intent on running a dual 7 segment display. Halfway through wiring it up on a breadboard and I realise, this is a common anode display. I hadn't pinned it out prior to buying the chips. Is it at all possible to use the 4511 chips to drive it or am I (as I expect) out of luck and due another trip to the component store?

And to confirm my reasoning, I found that with the positive terminal of a battery connected to one pin I could illuminate different segments by touching the pins with the negative terminal of the battery - so this means it is common anode yes? Super noob here, with salvaged parts, I know how to have a good time :D

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
1. Don't connect any LED to battery or power source directly. Make sure you put current limiting resistors in series.
2. So you found out that 4511 drives common cathode seven-segment displays. That is what you need to buy.
3. You can either change the display to common cathode or you can change the driver chip.
4. It depends on the rest of the circuitry that is driving the 4511. Are you using TTL or CMOS chips in the overall design? If you are using TTL, 74LS47 will drive common anode displays.
5. If you want to get something working temporarily until your next trip to the store, use inverter gates, chips or transistors between the seven output pins of the 4511 and the cathodes of the seven-segment display.
6. Make sure you use current limiting resistors, 470Ω to 1kΩ, one each on each of the seven segments.

Danger Mouse

Joined Nov 6, 2016