2 power sources in one circuit.

SirFico

Joined Nov 12, 2016
I'm just starting to learn about electronics, a real beginner, so whilst not homework as such, its a question I set myself that I don't understand the answer to.

The problem is what happens if 2 power supply sources are mixed in a circuit. I have an Raspberry Pi and a DHT22 temperature sensor that I wired up to the PI. Vin, Ground, and to a data pin. A resistor goes between the Vin and the data pin. This all works nicely and I get temperature readings.

My next trick is to put the DHT22 on to a breadboard for further tinkering. My Breadboard has its own power supply (the same voltage as the Rpi) and I was going to use this to power the DHT22. But then I though, not so fast, I will be wiring the VIn and Ground on the DHT22 from the breadboard power supply, but the data line goes to a RPi pin. A resistor goes between the Vin and the data line.

I don't know if this is OK or not or if I will fry my RPi or DHT22. I feel its a bit iffy but my electronics knowledge is very limited and I'm part way through the excellent tutorial on DC circuits found on this site with much more to learn so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi SirF,
The Pi operates on a 5V power voltage as does the DHT22.
Why not power the Pi and DHT from the same voltage, the resistor should be a pull up to 5v
E

SirFico

Joined Nov 12, 2016
I see what you mean, I suppose that would make it all just one circuit. I could do that but I was trying to get an understating of any problems if I should wire it up with two power sources. But thinking about it a bit more, if I just connected the ground on the RPi to the ground on the BB power supply I'm thinking that two positive supply voltages on one circuit would work OK. I think so..... I should probably boldly go and see what happens, I hope its not a fried pi :(

SirFico

Joined Nov 12, 2016