10.8v coverted to 6v

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Tyronebeginner, May 3, 2017.

1. Tyronebeginner

Thread Starter New Member

May 3, 2017
    Im a beginner at electronics and would like to know how to convert 10.8v 1.5am down to 6v keeping the amps the same, it is from a lithium ion battery if that makes any difference? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

2. dl324

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 30, 2015
    Welcome to AAC!

Voltage regulator. Use a switching regulator if you're concerned about dissipating ~40% of the power in the regulator.

3. Tyronebeginner

May 3, 2017
    Is there any way you could dumb this down for me at all please? As i am a beginner at this and don't really know technical terms.

4. dl324

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 30, 2015
    Don't know of any fixed 6V regulators off hand, but you could use a 5V regulator with a diode in the ground connection to get 5.7V. If you need something more accurate, you can use better control or an LM317.

EDIT: They do make 6V regulators; LM7806.

upload_2017-5-3_9-42-32.png

upload_2017-5-3_9-43-37.png

Last edited: May 3, 2017
  5. tcmtech

Distinguished Member

Nov 4, 2013
    It depends on the current you need and for how long plus what amount of inefficiency you can live with.

At 1.5 amps if it's just for a short duration and a fairly high power loss while in operation is acceptable a simple linear regulator IC as others mentioned would work fine.

However if it needs to run for extended amounts of time where overall long term highest possible efficiency is required a more complex switch mode type buck converter circuit would be better.

6. Tyronebeginner

May 3, 2017