Converting a traffic light into a timer

Transitory

Joined Jan 2, 2013
So, I have an antique traffic light box that I want to convert.

What it is now:

3 traditional 60w incandescent light bulbs hooked up to your run of the mill 120v household plug - in an old traffic light housing.

What I want it to be:

A lighted controlled count-down timer. You would:

1) Set how many minutes (maybe seconds) to count down (via a control board - something with a LED read-out and button control)

2) Press start

3) Green light stays on until last minute (or really neat if it stays on until last 10% of interval)

4) Yellow light illuminates for 30s-60s remaining (or 5-10% remaining)

5) Yellow light flashes for last 30s (or last 5%)

6) Red light illuminates when timer completes (plus an extra ability to add an electric buzzer later)

I am a complete beginner when it comes to circuits and building things like this. I'm sure, however, it can be done and I can do it with the right guidance. So all the help you can give will be great.

This doesn't have to be a ground up project, either. Any parts already made for something like this can can be bought would be fine. Just tell me how to start!

P.S. If the control board could also adjust when the yellow and yellow flashing starts that would be an extra bonus.

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
How many illuminated sides does the traffic light have? If there is only one side, that simplifies the project immensely.

A picture of the traffic light would help.

BillB3857

Joined Feb 28, 2009
A 4017 decade counter fed from a 555 osc would do it. Use diode OR functions to pick out the percentage points for each light, feed a SSR for each light, done.

tracecom

Joined Apr 16, 2010
I like the light; are you planning it to be a decorator piece?