help building a variable sine wave generator

pkennedy

Joined Feb 27, 2009
hey everyone I am new to the forum and would like any information on building a function genarator. I would like to have a schematic to follow because I am fairly new to electronics to.any help would be appreciated.

onlyvinod56

Joined Oct 14, 2008
Hi
i have xr2206. I want three sine waves, each have a phase shift of 120 deg.
Is there any simple technique to get this?
from this forum i came to know that using RC components we can achieve this.
I have simulated this in PSIM. but the voltages of three phases are going different.

check the attachment. i need to construct that. can anybody help me to get the three ac voltages?

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello onlyvinod56,

What you are doing now is hyjacking.
The answer can be found in the PDF thingmaker3 pointed pkennedy to.

Greetings,
Bertus

onlyvinod56

Joined Oct 14, 2008
Hello onlyvinod56,

What you are doing now is hyjacking.
The answer can be found in the PDF thingmaker3 pointed pkennedy to.

Greetings,
Bertus
hello bertus,
I have seen the thingmaker link. But all those oscillators are manually controllable. I need to control the frequency of the oscillator by giving a controlled volatge to a certain pin.

http://www.educypedia.be/electronics/spwmsimulation.htm

I dont know any method to control the frequency with a voltage for the collpits, hartley, RC phase shift oscillators etc.,

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

Here is the adapted circuit from the PDF pointed by thingmaker3.

To make the frequency variable you can place a analog switch (like a 4066) with a lower resistor parallel to the frequency determing resistors.
By pulsing the 4066 with a high frequency PWM (about 100-1000 times the wanted frequency) the effective resistance will change with the pulswidth.

Greetings,
Bertus

Attachments

Last edited:

pkennedy

Joined Feb 27, 2009
please forgive my ignorance but i didn't find a variable frequency sine wave generator