Antenna tower obstacle light flasher circuit?

Discussion in 'Power Electronics' started by Rabbit H, Aug 5, 2016.

1. Rabbit H

Thread Starter Member

Aug 5, 2016
    Mornin' Guys. New member here so don't trash me too bad on my first day. :)

I'm a retired military electronics technician but it's been many years since I've been actively engaged in electronics. Nonetheless, I still understand the theory, at least up until the mid-1980s when all of the new and amazing technology started showing up! In a nutshell, my electronics education and experience ranges from vacuum tubes to CMOS digital ICs.

The reason why I'm here is because I need a cheap obstacle ("ob") light flasher for a 40ft tower about a quarter mile away from a small private runway. However, "flasher" would be a misnomer in this case since ob lights don't really flash anymore (at least not at night anyway) but, instead, exhibit a slow rise and fall as if fed by a very low frequency sine wave of about 1 cycle every four or five seconds. I'm looking for a circuit capable of driving a pair of common 60W incandescent bulbs in parallel. My electronics design skills, being as rusty as they are, have me thinking along the lines of a circuit based around a sine wave-controlled triac.

Of course, if inexpensive ob light flashers are already available for the amateur radio market, that would save me a lot of trouble (but also deny me a bit of fun).

Your opinions are solicited.

Many thanks!

Harvey

Last edited: Aug 20, 2016
  2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    I would think that, to avoid having to climb up the tower and replace the bulbs, you would use a longer lasting form of light such as LED bulbs rather than incandescent.

You could control the brightness with a controller such as this with the DC brightness level signal provided by a couple of 555 timers circuits.
    Does that sound like something you could put together if the circuit schematic for the timer was provided for you?

3. AnalogKid