Diagnosis of Marshall 8100 Valvestate head problems

wolf1419

Joined Nov 1, 2008
Hi guys & gals,
I need technical help!.....I had a problem with a Marshall 8100 Valvestate head, blowing fuses. After checking power supply, bridge rectifier, etc...it was found that power transistors TR8 & TR10 were shorted(see enclosed attachment for scematic)....
After removing TR8 & TR10 from the board, the amp now turns on and has sound, volume, tone, etc, from preamp all operating fine from the FX loop out, which I verified by plugging this signal into an external amp....so that was good news to this stage.....
I was working with someone on the Marshall site, who has been excellent with helping me through this, but he hasn't been able to continue with the diagnosis due to time constraints.
I'm fairly new to electronics(DIY), have done some testing of components, soldering, DC voltage checks, etc.....BUT I really don't understand the complicated circuits of an amp like this from reading a schematic. I can understand the symbols, values, and find them on the board. I just don't know how each part affects the other parts of these circuits....thus my dilema in correctly diagnosing why I am having trouble trying to check throughout for other possible components that may be bad also, before putting new TL072's back in......I'd like to learn more about the testing and eliminate blowing the new ones if something else is wrong......which appears to be the case based on polarity problems as shown below....these are tests that were requested from my friend in the Marshall forum. I'm testing blindly, not knowing where to look for the problem:

This is the scenario:

1) TR8 & TR10 still out of the board
2) Board is still out but connected for powering up
3) I left off by checking voltage, referenced to gnd at various points to check for other potential problems and getting wacky polarity and uncertain of values to expect.....

Here goes...