Swansong

It has been interesting.

My usual attention span for a new hobby is about 3 years. I spent nearly 4 years at All About Circuits.

In that time I achieved over 11,000 posts and more, “likes” that anybody else (at that moment in time). I think I lowered the standards of the site in a good way. I tried to convince people that beginners are allowed to work with simplistic models instead of the highest achievement level a a hyper-intellectual with a PhD. I was actually helpful to a few people!

I started as a person that had never been on a forum site. I made beginner's mistakes. I learned about trolls, noobs, Moderators, and a lot about electronics. I navigated a world with people a lot smarter than I, and managed to elbow some space for self-taught people to exchange information without being immaculately perfect with every word they posted.

Now, I grow tired of this. Some people think my high post count means I am special or smart. I'm not. I just have more time to waste than most people. Some people snipe at me from behind a personality that I don't understand. Someone suggested that a few are afflicted with Asperger's Syndrome. I don't know how many people I had to defend against in the beginning to get some room to express myself. In the end, almost everybody either respected me or at least let me coexist with them.

I think I have learned what I can here. Not, “Life, The Universe, and Everything”, more like enough to know where to find what I need when I need it. The questions grow repetitive. There is an endless supply of beginners, but there is not an endless supply of me. I feel the need to move on. The gratification ratio has been diminishing. I think It's time to look for a different hobby.