you went potty:)

211chucky

Joined Aug 18, 2012
hey everyone, im new to the forum but really need some help. i have no electronics experience other than taking stuff apart and putting it back together when i was a kid. i am trying to make something but cant figure it out. i have my kids little toilet that when he pees in it it sings to him. i want to make something out of it. i am trying to make it so that when it is tripped it will start a small dc motor. i cant for the life of me figure out how to do it. i will post a picture of what it is i dont know if that will help or not. if anyone has any suggestions on how i can use this for this or a way to make a simular item i would greatly appreciate it. thank you so much

Attachments

BillB3857

Joined Feb 28, 2009
I would guess that on the other side of the board, there is a small glob of hard black epoxy. (not the epoxy but what is under it.) If so, that is the real brains behind your device. Short of using another circuit to sense when this one makes noise, not much you can do with this one. Probably be easier to start over with a liquid sensor circuit that will run a small motor.

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010
If the transducer (noise-maker, loudspeaker) is accessible, you may be able to use its drive signal to provide a starting pulse for your circuit. Think monostables. Years ago, I did something of this kind to link an electronic doorbell to an electromagnetic bell as an extension.

Before you ask, I do not have a schematic, and in any case the circuit was built using discrete transistors I happened to have lying about. It is probably not a circuit to be proud of either, but the bell still rings today.

Once you have a logic-level pulse of appropriate length, use it to drive a logic level MOSFET to switch the motor.

211chucky

Joined Aug 18, 2012
BillB3857, you are right about the epoxy, it is there. so there nothing that i can do to make this work?