Work Around Using a 9V Relay and A 555 Timer?

ajm113

Joined Feb 19, 2011
Hello all I'm a beginner here and I have basic knowledge of creating circuits a little, anyways I'll cut to the chase, so apologizes if I ask a low level question, I'm pretty much learning as I go about creating my circuit from scratch with no specific guide.

I'm currently using a 555 timer IC to hold one byte of memory and I want this 555 timer to trigger a 9v Relay, but it doesn't seem the output is high enough to trigger the relay, the Volts I'm getting is 6.8 to the relay and I was wondering if there was a good way to boost up the volts a little.

One method I was thinking is connecting positive output from the 555 IC to the relay and also connecting a positive line that's using a resistor that will lower the volts 3/4 way to the positive side of the relay as well to add a little boost of power, but I'm not sure if it's the best method...

Can someone enlighten me and give me a little more information on if maybe this is the best method or simply wait another 4 days to buy a relay that's 3V+ off the internet?

Thanks, Ajm113.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
1) You have a resistor labelled "+Adds V to Relay" that shorts the output of the 555 to +9V that probably destroyed the 555.
2) You have something (a diode drawn wrong?) between pin 8 and +9V. It reduces the voltage by 0.8V.
3) A very important diode is missing across the relay coil to arrest the hundreds of volts it develops when it turns off.
4) You have pin 2 shorted to ground.
5) You do not have a timing capacitor and a timing resistor.

You should look at the datasheet of the 555 timer. It shows that its output goes only as high as 2.25V less than the positive supply voltage when the load is 100mA.

I bet your 9V battery is almost dead anyway.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007