Won't register with phone?

Geronimo42

Joined May 7, 2014
Hi, I wanted to see if I could make my smartphone charge on a separate power supply. I took the micro usb end of the cable and soldered the 5v red wire to the board as well as the ground wire. When I connected it to the phone there was no charging symbol, so I used my multimeter to measure a current and there was none apparently. Nothing showed up on the multimeter which led me to believe that the phone was not registering the power supply. Could this be because of the green and white data cables not being soldered to the board?

Thank you in advance! I'm new to circuitry and I wanted to do something unique with a micro USB and this is what I came up with. Thanks again!

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I think you picked the wrong project for a beginner.
Things that use lithium batteries are intentionally designed to stop amateurs because lithium batteries catch on fire if you treat them wrong.

I don't know how to make a smart phone allow you to risk burning it up, but that's probably a good thing.

Geronimo42

Joined May 7, 2014
Aside from me not being able to make the battery explode, the voltage is low on the power supply. I e-mailed the company to check for me to be exact, but the board is 10cm long and that is what generates the electricity. I believe the voltage may even be below 5v. If the voltage is below the voltage of the wire would it not work? I figured if the voltage was low no harm would be done, but too high and it would short. Am I right?

Joined Nov 30, 2010