Wiring a switch to a portable emergency pack

spartan77777

Joined Nov 28, 2012
Hi,
being an almost total newbie, attempting to build a portable emergency power pack using a 12V 35AH AMG battery in a plastic battery box. Will be installing a dual USB socket, a 12V DC car cigarette lighter style socket, set of terminal posts for external units. Also would like to install a master switch and individual switches for each component. Have a few questions.
- What size fuse should I use for this type of installation and should I use a single fuse or should I fuse each segment seperately?
- I will be hooking up a Wagan EL2003-5 400 Watt Continuous Power Inverter that has a peak 1000W power, what kind of fuse should I use for this.
- I am considering switches available from amazon 10 for $9.99, 12V 16A switches. IS 16A sufficient to drive typical items I would drive through these or should I consider higher amp switches.
- Switches have 3 legs. Being a portable unit, I don't really have a ground. How would I handle ground in this type of an installation.

Thanks in advance for your explanations/recommendations.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The fuses will be rated according to each load. For instance, the 400 watt inverter would use more than 33 amps if it were 100% efficient, and it isn't. That gives you less than an hour on that battery and connectors MUCH larger than a cigarette lighter socket. You need to use Watts Law to figure (P=IE) so 1000 watts (power) = 83.333 amps at 12 volts (again assuming 100% efficiency). This requires size 3 AWG wire according to the NEC (National Electrical Code).

The "ground" will be one terminal of the battery, whichever you choose.
The switches will only need 2 legs.
You are in danger of melting the battery with loads this size.
That's a start.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009