why soldering station are so expensive?

bug13

Joined Feb 13, 2012
So I am looking to buy a soldering station, I have looked ebay, element14, rs component, and local shop, they are so expensive.

although there are some cheap Chinese one, so my question is, what make them so expensive? should I go for a cheap Chinese one? (I am a student and I only have little budget)

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
If you live in China, and buy one of these stations, they ship them from China to Europe or the US, and then back to China. Does this make too much sense?

Sparky49

Joined Jul 16, 2011
May I ask which country you live in?

The reason that the ones from farnell etc are more expensive because they are forced to meet higher safety standards. As such, they are often better built so are safer for you and your components. They also last longer and are easier to find spares for.

MicroMike

Joined Sep 30, 2012
The major difference between high and low priced soldering stations is power and versatility. Bigger transformer and heating element = more $$$. RF powered units = $$$$$$$$

I've worked with Weller units and Metcal solder stations ranging from $200 to $1200. The top of the range RF powered Metcal unit can go from room temp. to operating temp. in 5-6 seconds where as the cheaper you go, the longer the heat/reheat time.

The power affects more than the time you spend waiting between solder joints. It also affects how large a joint you can solder at all. Soldering to a very large and thermally conductive surface or melting a large wad of solder can be near impossible with a low-power unit.