Why crystal 16MHz doesn't show 16MHz frequency when measured? What are the causes?

nazree

Joined Jun 23, 2008
Hello fellow friends and engineers.

I am not an expert in electronics. I am facing a problem that affects a lot of my time to troubleshoot but still can't figure out the causes of this problem..

Would appreciate if there is any expert in here..can you share your experience or your views on this?

Why crystal SMT (surface mount) 16MHz doesn't show 16MHz frequency when measured? What are the typical causes? I tried measuring using oscilloscope both pins, but the value is not 16MHz, but in kHz and sometimes smaller...and the value keeps changing.

When I measured the voltage across the oscilloscope, there is no voltage at all. Does this mean the crystal is damaged?

I have tried to change to a new crystal, but still same result.

For your information, they crystal is used to provide 16MHz to the microcontroller 8051 (pins XTAL1 and XTAL2 of the 8051).

I used 22pF as the parallel capacitors across the crystal.

If anyone here can give your views, please let me know. Your helps and assistance is highly appreciated.

Thanks.

Nazree

PS: I will attach the picture of the diagram later...

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
It is entirely possible that the level is too low to see, or perhaps it isn't oscillating at all. Do you have an RF meter, spectrum analyzer, or high freq oscope to verify something is actually there?

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Here is another suggestion. Write a simple count program. For example, pulse a pin every 100 counts. Then measure the frequency on the pin.

That would allow the crystal to be in its normal operating environment and avoid such artifacts and overloading as have been mentioned. John

scubasteve_911

Joined Dec 27, 2007
Is this crystal feeding a microcontroller? I am willing to bet you are loading the crystal down with your probes so that it cannot oscillate. Check your probe capacitance!

Steve

Tahmid

Joined Jul 2, 2008