Which Schematic Programs?

masteropie

Joined May 17, 2008
I like autocad. I have been using it for years so i am quick with it. I always make flow charts and stuff in it too which helps me. I am just getting into newer age electronics now so i don't know how autocad is going to fair with such circuits yet.

I have tried a few other specialty schematic programs. I find myself taking all day trying to get nonstandard parts into the schematic.

I have heard protel is really good, i have never tried it.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Are you wanting to simulate a circuit or just draw a schematic? I have something on my blog called PaintCAD, which is crude but can draw decent schematics. It is definately not a schematic capture program however, so it will never be usable for circuit simulations or laying out printed circuit boards, which are both nice features.

You need to decide, besides drawing a schematic, what else it will do. LTSPICE is a good simulator, and Eaglesoft will draw schematics which it will turn into a PCB. Don't know about the other stuff.

Dave

Joined Nov 17, 2003
Hi,

I always have problems when it comes to schematics as I don’t have a schematics program. I was looking at WinDraft and at first glance it seems very easy to use but I’ve seen a very negative comment at ‘All About Circuits - Newsgroup Archive’ http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/newsgroups/viewtopic.php?t=1045.

What are your comments about WinDraft?

Any recommendations on easy to use schematics programs?

Thanks
Check the date on that Newsgroup Archive entry - 2003 - 5 years has passed so if there were issues with that particular version of WinDraft it has no bearing on what a current version would be like.

Dave

KMoffett

Joined Dec 19, 2007