Which PIC compiler to choose?

rougie

Joined Dec 11, 2006
Hello,

I have been programming Microchip mcu's for 4 years, namely the PIC18F4685and I have been using PCWH compiler from CCS. I recently maxed out the on board rom/ram memory for this part. My program is approximately 26K lines. I think the PIC18F4685 contains the largest amount of rom/ram for the PIC18's familly. And therefore if I want to continue my project I need a bigger mcu... perhaps the PIC24's familly with the PCWHD compiler from CCS.

Has anyone here experienced or used extensively the PCWH compiler. I was wondering, is the PCWHD compiler is the same as the PCWHD.

I was also looking for a PIC compiler for the MC PIC24's familly for C++. I have heard that IAR makes one and I also was told from IAR themselves that the compiler is approximately 4K$. Does anyone here know of any other C++ PIC compilers which are less costly?

I also had my eye on the Mikroc compiler, it seems to have some nice libraries while maintaining a good ANSI C compliance.

I am not crazy about MPLAB or Hightech, since there is not much pre-done libraries as in CCS and MikroC.

Anyone with feedback on this, please do get back!

Best regards

Last edited:

rjenkins

Joined Nov 6, 2005
I've been using the CCS compilers for many years, including PCWHD for the last 18 months or so.

From within MPLab, you don't really see any great differences between the versions, you just use the correct includes for the CPU and carry on as normal.

It still uses the same generic CCS toolsuite selection, everything to do with the specific CCS chip compiler version selection is is done transparently.

Tahmid

Joined Jul 2, 2008
Hi,
I use pic24 but I program in basic namely mikroBasic for PIC24/dsPIC. For c, you can use mikroC for PIC24/dsPIC.

Personally I do use the compiler from Microchip.

I feel good with that. I have not yet encountered any library limitation you are talking about.