Which Oscilloscope to buy?

bilalbajwa

Joined Feb 21, 2007
Guys i am a college student and thinking to buy a Digital Oscilloscope. I have a budget of $300 and i found these oscilloscopes interesting. I would really appreciate if someone would guide me in selecting the best among the following. I highly appreciate your help.

Atten Digital Oscilloscopes 40MHz ADS1042C
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200581177391&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

ATTEN ADS1022 DIGITAL STORAGE OSCILLOSCOPE 25MHz
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320492007798&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

SIGLENT SDS1022C 25MHZ Digital Oscilloscope
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120691426434&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

OWON Digital Oscilloscope PDS5022S 25 MHz
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=130493939041&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

bilalbajwa

Joined Feb 21, 2007
Thanks for you reply. Sir, on Ebay , Rigol DS1052E is $379. I could spend that. I am curious to know whats the reason you suggested that manufacturer. Is it better than all i mentioned? Also what you think about the best one among the links i posted. I highly appreciate your time.

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
Thanks for you reply. Sir, on Ebay , Rigol DS1052E is $379. I could spend that. I am curious to know whats the reason you suggested that manufacturer. Is it better than all i mentioned? Also what you think about the best one among the links i posted. I highly appreciate your time.
Because it's interface is massively better (it's more responsive, it has multiple controls for timebase and volts/div as opposed to a single control, and it has FFT.) and because it's effectively a 100 MHz oscilloscope with a bandwidth hack (Google "Rigol hack".) It's also supremely well built compared to some of the cheaper ones; from what I've seen inside one, they use quality parts, so it's guaranteed to last you 5 or 10 years at least. It's very popular and Rigol have hit a winner.

russ_hensel