where is the missing voltage?

milly molly mandy

Joined Sep 4, 2008
I am a relative beginner, although I did do an Electronics course a few years ago, but have forgotten quite a bit of it.

At the moment, I'm studying Potential Divider circuits. To help me understand it a little better, I set up a little series circuit with 3 resistors and a lamp, on my breadboard. 6 Volts battery supply. Resistors of l5.2 ohms, 10.1 ohms and 56.8 ohms. I measured resistance of the 6 volt lamp, which appeared to be 4.5 ohms.

I was really looking forward to getting a nice neat result, that is, I was hoping that the sum of voltage drops across resistors and lamps would equal the battery voltage.(just like it says in the text books) Unfortunately though, I got the following results:
VOLTAGE DROPS ACROSS 3 RESISTORS & LAMP
R1= 0.724V
R2=0.482V
R3=2.72V
Lamp=0.890

According to my calculator, this makes a total of 4.816 Volts.
Yet the Voltage at my battery measured 5.55 Volts.
So what has happened to the other volts?
That is, there seem to be 734mV missing.

I would be grateful if someone who is a little more advanced in Electronics than I could make some suggestions! Thanks.

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
Did you measure your battery voltage while in the circuit or did you measure the battery voltage with it disconnected from the circuit?

It should be measured while in the circuit since it is likely that it will drop slightly under load.

The error is pretty high so it is not likely that the error is due to meter accuracy.

hgmjr

Last edited:

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Batteries have internal resistance. If you're powering a circuit that has relatively low resistance, the internal resistance of the battery will dissipate a large amount of power.