Where can I buy a good cheap signal/function generator?

Status
Not open for further replies.

zero_coke

Joined Apr 22, 2009
I am a university student and my budget is about $200 so its very limited. I'm sure you guys know where to find a nice signal generator for a nice price. Anyone with any good places to order from or buy from? Is it even possible to find a signal generator for this budget? Oh, by the way, I need something that offers 1 MHz to 20 MHz signal modification.

Thanks!

loosewire

Joined Apr 25, 2008
Army surplus catalog.Google Internet.

Found u.s. army surplus on google It has search.

For less.com.....Did you copy.

Last edited by a moderator:

zero_coke

Joined Apr 22, 2009
Yea i check out the army one, but there was none there. I'll try the forless one now and see if they have any. thanks for the input!

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Just keep your eyes open, something will pop up. HAM events, Craigs list, flea markets, estate sales, it's out there.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Are you sure you need 20 MHz? Several years ago, I built a kit based on the Max038 chip (now obsolete). I believe the store was http://kitsrus.com/kits.html

If 2 MHz will do, you might consider the VC2002, such as this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-0-2-Hz-2-MH...Item&pt=BI_Signal_Sources&hash=item335d75e768

E-bay is flooded with signal generators. For the price, I am quite pleased with the VC2002 . The digital readout is pretty close.

I notice there is a newer unit, the VC2003 that is a little more expensive, but might be worth considering.

http://cgi.ebay.com/1-VC2003-Digita...lectrical_Equipment_Tools&hash=item2a0769aced

Finally, if you are into boat anchors, there is a plethora of options, such as:

http://cgi.ebay.com/HP-3325A-Synthe...Item&pt=BI_Signal_Sources&hash=item1c12c83b56

Suggestions:
1) Try searching e-bay, and
2) Try Google search, particularly for DIY electronics.

John

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009