What type of MCU to choose?

milesguidon

Joined Dec 4, 2010
I need to choose a MCU for something I am designing, but I am unsure of what to use.

My input to the MCU is going to be asynchronous data, in 14 bit words. My output from the MCU is going to be serial data in 224 bit words [24 bytes] along with a clock. So, the input doesn't need a clock [I only need to tell the MCU the Baud rate], but the component after the MCU that takes the MCU's output needs a clock along with the 24 byte packets to handle the transfers. This much I know. I hope that I have chosen the correct order in designing my digital system [that is, choose what you want at the beginning, and choose what you want the end goal to be...THEN find an MCU that can do what you need it to].

I am new to designing anything with digital parts, and I am having a hard time choosing a microprocessor that can take in asynchronous data in 14 bits, and output synchronous data with a 24-byte length. It's not so much that I can't choose an MCU, but that I just don't know what different MCU's can handle as input and output. If an MCU datasheet says it can do serial I/O, does this mean it can also do asynchronous serial input and synchronous serial output [can it mix and match]? It could be that there are many microprocessors that are capable of what I am looking for, but I just don't know where to start. Could anybody please help me with this?

Thanks.

milesguidon

Joined Dec 4, 2010
It takes data from a sensor and outputs it to an LED driver in a manner that allows a the driver to output LED sequences corresponding to the magnitude of the input to the sensor. It's the same concept as a VU meter.

PRS

Joined Aug 24, 2008