What to do with all these wires on my board?

Thread Starter

jaygatsby

Joined Nov 23, 2011
184
I am making a nice board. I will have a dozen or so 30 gauge wires that need to go to ground, and about the same number that will need to go to the voltage to be used by the board as Vcc. What is a good way to do this? I see something called 'bus wire' online that can be connected to perfboard, but I've never used it and don't know how well it works.

Thank you
 

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
22,201
Bus wire is just what you need. It's bare wire that is tinned, which makes it easy to solder to. You can run pieces of bus wire as power "rails", and run your small gauge wires to the bus.
 

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
23,149
Some perfboards have continuous strips of traces on the board to be used for power and ground bus purposes.
 

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
1,623
Don't forget your decoupling capacitors. I use the capacitor leads to wire heavier gauge supply and drain from cap to cap, with your lighter gauge device connections being short and direct to thier respective cap.
 

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
7,991
"Bus wire" is just a single conductor wire, as opposed to several smaller strands twisted under insulation. I believe it is usually uninsulated to be called "bus wire."

It is what I use to make power traces to my ICs. For most things I use #26 AWG solid wire.
 

Thread Starter

jaygatsby

Joined Nov 23, 2011
184
Don't forget your decoupling capacitors. I use the capacitor leads to wire heavier gauge supply and drain from cap to cap, with your lighter gauge device connections being short and direct to thier respective cap.
These are all CMOS chips going to the rails. My plans was to put a capacitor between the rails, and also use a voltage regulator with its recommended 2 capacitors where the rails will interface to the outside world. Good?
 

Thread Starter

jaygatsby

Joined Nov 23, 2011
184
Is there a specific technique that works best to hook the bus wire to the board?
 

GetDeviceInfo

Joined Jun 7, 2009
1,623
These are all CMOS chips going to the rails. My plans was to put a capacitor between the rails, and also use a voltage regulator with its recommended 2 capacitors where the rails will interface to the outside world. Good?
Depends on the functionality of your circuits, but decouplers sprinkled liberally around and physically close to your device is in my experience, a good habit.
 

Thread Starter

jaygatsby

Joined Nov 23, 2011
184
Here's a related question. On the same board I have 30 gauge wires, there will be 32 of them, that need to interface with other things. For now the thing they will need to interface with is my breadboard. So I am looking for some sort of permanent fixture that I can use on the board, that will have a clip or something so I can hook wires from my breadboard to these...

Thank you
 

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
1,568
Is there a specific technique that works best to hook the bus wire to the board?

It depends on the layout of your components but if you're using perf board (no copper) or pad-per-hole prototyping board, you can weave the bus wire up and down through the holes to create power and ground buses.
 

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
1,568
Here's a related question. On the same board I have 30 gauge wires, there will be 32 of them, that need to interface with other things. For now the thing they will need to interface with is my breadboard. So I am looking for some sort of permanent fixture that I can use on the board, that will have a clip or something so I can hook wires from my breadboard to these...

Thank you

You can use a pin header or separate test point pins or you can just solder in an inverted U-shaped piece of thick bus wire to two holes.
 

Thread Starter

jaygatsby

Joined Nov 23, 2011
184
It depends on the layout of your components but if you're using perf board (no copper) or pad-per-hole prototyping board, you can weave the bus wire up and down through the holes to create power and ground buses.
I think the bus wire would be too thick
 

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
1,568
You need to choose a size of bus wire that will fit through the holes on your board you know. ;-D I usually use 22 AWG since I have a lot of it for breadboarding anyway.
 
Top