what subject to take

bug13

Joined Feb 13, 2012
Hi guys

After building a few MCU projects, I find that I need to learn some basic algorithms to deal with like filtering, sorting etc... Because there is only so much I can do with ADC values and simply average the values, then put it on a display.

Basic analog is fine, but I find myself interested in digital more and more.

So what subjects do I need to take in-order to know and use these stuck, like what ever subject I need to learn to do those interesting stuff.

Thanks guys.

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
It would help if we knew what college you plan to get the education so we can see what courses are offered.

bug13

Joined Feb 13, 2012
It would help if we knew what college you plan to get the education so we can see what courses are offered.
This is the polytechnic I am studying at right now(Diploma in Engineering):
http://www.weltec.ac.nz/SUBJECTAREAS/EngineeringTechnology/Facilities/tabid/453/Default.aspx?

Depends on my financial situation, I might have to get a job soon and study at (it's an online course):
www.openpolytechnic.ac.nz/

If my finance can support, I can go to:
www.victoria.ac.nz/

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013
I forgot to ask, are you interested in IC chip design, circuit design or programming (embedded or high level)?

bug13

Joined Feb 13, 2012
I forgot to ask, are you interested in IC chip design, circuit design or programming (embedded or high level)?
I have never thought of chip design, and I have absolutely now knowledge of it, so I don't know. (But I heard that its hard to get into)

I like circuit design, I like digital circuit design more than analog (I find analog very hard to be honest), I enjoy designing circuit and PCB, assembling it, and program it.

Embedded interests me(in C), and I know I have no interest in writing software for PC( high level?), but I do know the high end applications are usually running RTOS or Linux or WinCE etc

Thanks

LDC3

Joined Apr 27, 2013