What is your biggest foul-up that you got away with??

recklessrog

Joined May 23, 2013
When I was an apprentice at a large electronics company, I was given lots of boring repetitive jobs to do. One day, the charge hand gave me a a couple of hundred 1/4" thick copper sheets and told me to drill an 1/8" dia. hole in the center of each one.
Now, in the toolroom was a beautifull new pillar drill, and everyone was under threat of castration if it was damaged. I carefully set up a couple of bits of steel to make a jig, and cut a square of marine grade plywood to sit underneath the copper whilst it was being drilled.
I then went to the stores and got a nice new drill bit, set up the quill travel stop and proceeded to drill the copper plates.
After I had done about 2/3rds of them, the drill bit became blunt, so off to the stores for another. I fitted it in the chuck, put in a new copper plate and pulled down on the lever. As I lifted out the plate, Horror of Horrors!!! There was iron dust on the plywood, I had not re-set the depth stop!!!
My heart missed a beat, but, quick as a flash, I removed the plywood and there, right in the middle of the table was a nice little dimple in the iron. (Oh why didn't it have a large pass through hole like the old machine had?)
I then drilled nearly all the way through, got a set of letter stamps, and punched the word "OIL" just above it!
I wonder how many people have oiled that hole in all these years!!!!

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Getting away with something? Not likely in my area of electronics.:(
More likely, "I put anti-seize compound on the lug nuts for a car but the owner figured it out before the wheels fell off.":eek:
I don't think that's getting away with it completely, but I did get out of it without anybody getting killed.:rolleyes:

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010