What is a good first microcontroller?

jonah1

Joined Dec 17, 2010
I am an experienced C/C++/Java developer but I have no experience with embedded systems, low level programming, or with hardware. I want to get into RC Boats/Submarines as a hobby and I was wondering what would be a good microcontroller to learn on? I don't mind writing assembly or reading whatever is necessary to learn what I need to know. I'm just looking for a starting point to begin learning.

I would prefer one that has an emulator and I need to be able to do everything in Linux because I don't know how to use Windows.

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
If you want to get into hardware quickly and for around $30, I suggest you check into Arduino at www.arduino.cc. The Arduino UNO is a good starter board. The development software is at the Arduino website. The programming language is C-language. Once you get comfortable with this then you can graduate to rolling your own hardware.

hgmjr

Not into Linux, but here are just some random ideas to explore for suitability:

LPCXpresso : 32 bit Cortex-M0 & Cortex-M3

TI Launchpad : 16 bit MSP430 value series

Microchip PICs and Atmel AVRs : very popular 8 bit and up micro's. GCBasic is an open source compiler/project that uses FreeBasic (Linux version/compatible) to create the GCBasic.exe.

dikshitmm

Joined Dec 17, 2010
Hi Jonah,

If you *really* want to learn a microcontroller, start with a simpler one - 8051 or PIC, preferably some open source hardware that will allow you to study the schematics too. I suggest 8051 because there is tons of material and development tools and support forums available that will help you with it. Once you know how a microcontroller works, it will be easier for you to learn the more complex x86, ARM etc microcontrollers.

A lot of material on 8051 is available here:
http://www.8052.com
http://www.8051projects.info