Weller Station WTCP51 not heating..help please

skyraven

Joined Mar 22, 2009
Hi all,

I'm a newbie (so take it easy on me).
A friend loaned me his WTCP51 for doing some soldering..and after I successfully managed to solder 8 cables to a PCB, it suddenly stopped heating.
I changed the tip (no luck).
I left the station off for 30 min then on again..no luck.
It's not heating anymore.

Any idea what might be the problem and what could be the fix ?

edit1:
I no longer hear the sound that the unit made when it was heated up and ok (I think there was something magnetically related)

Thanks in advance,
Mihai

Last edited:

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Mine (40 years old now) has a habit of doing the same thing. There is enough oxidation in the barrel that the switch contacts can't move freely.

The tip is a magnet, and controls heating by pulling the switch in the barrel closed. At the setpoint temperature, it loses magnetism due to Curie effect, and opens the switch.

I mostly tap mine on the holder collar to get it going. The "real cure" is to unscrew the collar and remove the barrel to expose the innards and clean things up. Things are pretty tight in there...

skyraven

Joined Mar 22, 2009
Hi both,

@SgtWookie:

Thanks for the link.
I was hoping though not to change anything yet..and also not deliver a broken station back to my friend.

@beenthere
Thanks "beenthere" for the explanation.
I undid the collar/unscrewed it..and found that underneath it, there's a rectangular tiny transparent plastic box with some metal plates which under the influence of the tip or a magnetic field open/close a circuit.
Those are the parts no longer triggering anything I'm afraid (I don't hear them move)
Did you mean cleaning those very small metal plates ? (it really seems like a pain in the *** to reach them and 2 very very small screws on the plastic box)
Update: