Ways of Driving a High Power Stepper Motor at 24V, from a 12V Battery.

sweaterlife

Joined Mar 24, 2010
Hi,

I'm an electronic engineering student currently working on a project for my university's student racing team.

Then goal is to provide an electrically actuated gear shifter to operate the cars gear box, i.e. a paddle shift gearbox.
The gearbox on the car is a sequential shift gearbox taken from a honda motorbike.

We require 10Nm of torque to execute a shift, by turning the gear selector shaft where the bikers foot would usually kick a lever. We had considered using a solenoid, however this is a common solution, so we are attempting to solve this problem with a stepper motor. This will offer greater positional control and efficiencies.

In order to deliver the required torque, we must drive our stepper motor at24V, 6A per phase. This equates to 24V, 12A which is a huge power demand of 288W. We have already built a H-Bridge circuit capable of operating under these conditions, and constructed a microcontroller system to drive it, however we are struggling to produce the required voltage and current from the cars on board 12V battery.

Attempts have been made to create a switching power supply (classic PWM with in line inductor style) however the size of inductor required in order to prevent saturation is not practical, and also there is no reason to supply a constant 12A output current as a single shift operation will take 200ms. We also estimate that the driver will not shift more frequently than once every second or so, so we have a duty cycle of 20%.

This has led us towards the possibility of charging a capacitor bank to drive the motor. Are there any other suggestions as to how we might create a 24V 12A supply from a 12V lead acid battery.
N.B. The car also has an alternator which will be recharging the main battery during operation.